Lift Off!

Today I realized that it has been quite some time since I last posted: more than a year and a half! Unfortunately I don’t have the amount of time I wish I had to dedicate to this blog, but I thought I’d post a photo I took earlier this week at Lafayette Reservoir. I took it on my smartphone, and I startled the bee in the process. Due to the rolling shutter, you can see the path of the bee’s wings during lift off:

Lift Off

Like most insects, bees fly by moving their wings in a figure-eight pattern. They have a total of four wings (two forewings and two hindwings), but during flight each fore- and hindwing hook together to form one large wing each.

Happy Spring!

Leave a Reply

